How to disable push notification in Google Chrome (Easy Guide)


How do you disable notifications in Google Chrome? First of all, what are push notifications, and what are they used for?

What are notifications in Google Chrome?

Notifications are push messages, these are messages that are sent to your Google Chrome web browser by a remote server.

The useful thing is that these push notifications are displayed without the need for Google Chrome browser being opened, and you don’t have to connect to the push notification server from the browser, that is done automatically.

What are push notifications used for?

push notification google chromeNotifications are meant to inform users about new content, an important message, an update, etc.

We see more and more websites that offer to allow notifications to alert users to new content, new messages, etc.

However, we also see more and more abuse of push notifications (on the right you’ll see an example of a rogue push notification). These are mainly websites that try to persuade users to accept the notifications to download a file or play a video.rogue push notification

If the user accepts to allow the push notifications, annoying and unwanted advertisements will appear in the push notifications content.

These rogue push notifications the user has agreed to by clicking allow, in turn, redirect the Google Chrome to a deceptive advertising network.

How to disable push notifications in Google Chrome

It is easy to remove push notification permissions from Google Chrome. Google Chrome has an in-built option to disable push notifications, follow instructions.

google chromeRemove push notifications from Google Chrome

  1. Open Google Chrome
  2. In the top-right corner, expand the Chrome menu.
  3. In the menu go to Settings, scroll down to Advanced settings.
  4. At the Privacy and Security section click Site settings.
  5. In the Notifications settings, find the URL that is showing notifications and remove the domain (URL) by clicking the three vertical dots on the right to the URL and select Remove.

I hope this article was useful to you, thank you for reading!


Share this article online!
Sharing is caring! Do you care about a safer world wide web? I think you do! Help other people by sharing this information on social media. You can use the social media network buttons below.

 

 

You might find these articles useful

donation

About The Author

Add Comment