How to ensure privacy in the Google Chrome web browser


Browsers save a lot of private information about the surfing behavior of internet users. How do you ensure more privacy when surfing with Google Chrome?

The Google Chrome browser, like other browsers, keeps a lot of data about the user. It’s a good idea to think about this and see how you can better protect your privacy using Chrome.

There are several ways to make sure that Google gets fewer data. In many privacy settings, however, the Internet user has to weigh up convenience on the one hand and privacy on the other. Because not all possibilities in Chrome are built in to inform Google about the user. Many options actually provide an advantage for the user.

Google Chrome Privacy Settings

Log out of your Google Account

At Google Chrome, people can log in with a Google Account. This happens, for example, if you log in to Gmail via your browser and then do not log out. Of course, it has advantages to remain logged in to Google. For example, you have direct access to Google services such as Google Drive and Photos. But Google can also better register how the Google account behaves online. Log out your Google account to surf anonymously.

Open Google Chrome, go to Google.com. Click on your user icon, select: Sign out or Sign out of all devices.

Settings in the browser

Google Chrome has several privacy settings that the user can change himself. These privacy settings are summarized in the Google Chrome settings menu. 

Open Google Chrome and open the Google Chrome menu. In the list, select Settings. Scroll down and open Advanced Settings.

Webservices

Google Chrome has some web services that it claims to improve the user experience. These services can be found under Privacy and Security. 

If a slider behind the service is blue, the option is on. Don’t want to use the service? Then click on the slider. This will turn grey, and the service will be turned off. 

It is up to you which data you want to turn off.

Open the Sync and Google Services. We recommend that you turn off Automatically send usage statistics and crash reports to Google if you’re going to safeguard your privacy.

turn off privacy settings google chrome

Return to Privacy and security and enable the Send do not track request with your browser traffic.

enable do not track google chrome

Content settings

It is also possible to determine what information websites can use and what content they show you in Google Chrome.

Click on Site Settings.

A list of features opens. Feel free to go through the list. Below we discuss some options.

Cookies and site data

Click on Cookies and site data. Websites distinguish between different types of cookies. There are useful cookies from the site you visit and third party cookies. 

It depends on what you leave enabled. In general, however, it is easier to surf if useful cookies remain enabled. Third-party cookies can be disabled. 

To do so, click Block third-party cookies.

block third-party cookies google chrome

Location, Camera, Microphone and Notifications

Click on the arrow in the top left corner to return to the settings for content.

Make sure that the ‘Location,’ ‘Camera’ and ‘Microphone’ sections have the ‘Ask before access’ option checked.

Make sure that the option Ask before sending is enabled under ‘Notifications.’ Read more on how to disable notifications in Google Chrome.

Pop-ups and redirections

Finally, click on Pop-ups and redirections. 

A pop-up is a small window that appears on top of the active browser window during surfing. It is often used to advertise or give more information to the user. 

In some cases, however, pop-ups are desirable. It is up to you whether or not you think these pop-ups are helpful.

Incognito

Users can also surf in Chrome without leaving any traces. This means that some data is not saved, without you having to set something up for it separately. The browsing history, cookies, site data, and information provided in forms are not stored locally on your device. You can use the Google Chrome incognito function to surf the web without leaving any historical traces.

Open the three dots icon in the top right-hand corner of the screen.

Click on New incognito window or press CTRL+SHIFT+N (Windows) / SHIFT + CMD + N (Mac).

new incognito window google chrome

A black (darker) Chrome window will open.

You can now use the Internet as usual. Close the private session (Incognito) by clicking on the cross in the upper right corner.


Share this article online!
Sharing is caring! Do you care about a safer world wide web? I think you do! Help other people by sharing this information on social media. You can use the social media network buttons below.

 

 

You might find these articles useful

donation

About The Author

Add Comment