Remove Search.Speedbit.com (Speedbit Search)

remove search.speedbit.com homepageSearch.SpeedBit.com is a homepage hijacker also called Browser Hijacker, which is installed by browser extensions or addons. This homepage hijacker is bundled with freeware to promote SpeedBit Search and to make money using advertisements within the search results. Once this Search.SpeedBit.com browser hijacker is installed on your computer, the default search engine and homepage for Internet Explorer, Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox is replaced with Search.SpeedBit.com. This Search.SpeedBit.com homepage is not malicious process itself and may not be called a virus, but it does change security settings within your favorite browser and is distributed by freeware.

Please be aware what you install on your computer. The Search.SpeedBit.com browser hijacker is most likely installed by the computer user itself because it’s offered during the installation process.

It is advised to always read the Terms and Agreements before installing software on your computer. Do never click too fast thru the installation process [Next] button of software as you will agree to software you might not want to install. If the installer offers a Advanced or Custom option button, click it to find out if there is any other malicious software offered and installed during the installation process.

Read more…

Remove SpeedBit Toolbar (search.speedbit.com)

remove speedbit toolbar browserSpeedbit Toolbar is a browser extension, plugin or addon for Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox, also called a Browser Helper Object for Internet Explorer. The Speedbit Toolbar is made and promoted by Speedbit and will replace or hijack your default homepage to search.speedbit.com and in this case the search results are promoted by Speedbit.com itself. The Speedbit Toolbar is bundled during the installation process of free or shareware downloads by download managers. This PUP – Potentially Unwanted Program is not a malicious process, but it’s build to promote services, advertisements and should not be bundled during the installation process to trick users into installing it without a decent notice.

It is advised to always read the Terms and Agreements before installing software on your computer. Do never click too fast thru the installation process [Next] button of software as you will agree to software you might not want to install. If the installer offers a Advanced or Custom option button, click it to find out if there is any other malicious software offered and installed during the installation process.

Read more…